Updated logo transparent background.png

About the ATJC 

Established in 2003, the Colorado Access to Justice Commission (ATJC) is made up of twenty voting members appointed by organizations committed to the integrity and accessibility of our civil justice system.


Commissioners are appointed by the Colorado Supreme Court, the Colorado Bar Association, Colorado Legal Services, COLTAF, the Legal Aid Foundation of Colorado, the Governor, Speaker of the Colorado House of Representatives, and the President of the Colorado Senate.

Commissioners may serve up to three staggered three-year terms while emeritus Commissioners have been chosen to continue working on the Commission after they have served their three terms. In addition, several ex-officio members serve on the Commission.

Much of the Commission’s work is carried out by its committees. Each committee is chaired by an Access to Justice Commissioner and is comprised of Commissioners and community partners who share our mission. These committee members are dedicated public servants who generously dedicate countless hours to their committee work, in an effort to reduce access to civil justice barriers for all Coloradans.

Since 2003, the Commission has relied almost entirely on volunteers to accomplish its mission, with some limited staff assistance from its appointing entities. In 2020, the Commission successfully secured funding to hire a full-time Executive Director in 2021. The Commission's funding partners include the Colorado Bar Association, the Colorado Lawyer Trust Account Foundation, and a generous, anonymous donor. This marks a milestone for the ATJC as the addition of at least one full-time staff member is nationally considered one of the hallmarks of maximizing the success of access to justice commissions. 

Our Mission

We develop, coordinate and implement policy initiatives to expand access to and enhance the quality of justice in civil legal matters for persons who encounter barriers in gaining access to Colorado's civil justice system.


The importance of our work is more clear than ever.

The COVID-19 pandemic exposed and exacerbated systemic inequities that in turn increased the need for legal assistance. And the increased recognition of racial inequities in our legal, political, and economic systems now calls for meaningful redress.

Commission Leadership 



Dick Gast

Commission Chair

8970 164 Lane

Salida, CO 81201

(970) 691-7925


Nominated by Colorado Bar Association

Term Ends 12/31/23

Reenie Terjak

Commission Vice-Chair

Director of Advocacy, Colorado Legal Services   

1905 Sherman St., Ste. 400, Denver, CO 80203

211 W. Magnolia St., Ft. Collins, CO 80521 

(970) 493-2891 x 265


Nominated by Colorado Legal Services

Term Ends 12/31/22

Richard M. Murray

Commission Secretary

Polsinelli, P.C.

1401 Lawrence Street, Ste. 2300

Denver, CO 80202

(303) 583-8242


Nominated by Colorado Senate

Term Ends 12/31/21

Our Commissioners

Jonathan D. Asher

Executive Director, Colorado Legal Services

1905 Sherman St., Suite 400

Denver, CO 80203

(303) 866-9399


Ex- Officio

Frederick J. Baumann

Lewis Roca Rothgerber Christie
1200 17th Street, Suite 3000
Denver, CO 80202
(303) 628-9542


Hon. Susan Blanco

8th Judicial District

201 La Porte Ave., Suite 100

Fort Collins, CO 80521



Appointed by CBA

Term Ends 12/31/2022

Beth Crane

Crane & Tejada
575 E. College Drive

Durango, CO 81301
Appointed by CBA
Term Ends 12/31/2022

Hon. Adam J. Espinosa

Denver County Court

520 W. Colfax Avenue

Denver, CO 80204

(720) 337-0831


Appointed by Colorado Supreme Court

Term Ends 12/31/2022

Kimberly S. Gent

The Harris Law Firm

1125 17th Street, Ste. 450

Denver, CO 80202

(303) 515-5000


Appointed by

Term Ends 12/

Hon. Melissa Hart

Colorado Supreme Court

2 East 14th Avenue

Denver, CO 80203

(720) 625-5430


Ex- Officio

Wessley Hassler

Hassler Law Firm

616 W Abriendo Ave

Pueblo, CO 81004

(719) 544-2929


Appointed by CBA

Term Ends 12/31/2023

Brittany Kauffman

Senior Director

Institute for the Advancement of the American Legal System

University of Denver, John Moye Hall

2060 South Gaylord Way

Denver, CO 80208

(303) 871-6619


Appointed by Governor

Term Ends 12/31/2023

Elizabeth Espinosa Krupa

Law Office of Elizabeth Espinosa Krupa

150 East 10th Avenue

Denver, CO 80203

(303) 832-6353 


Appointed by CBA

Term Ends 12/31/2023

Hon. Lino Lipinsky

Colorado Court of Appeals
2 East 14th Avenue

Denver, CO 80203
(720) 625-5220
Appointed by CBA
Term Ends 12/31/23

Jason Lynch

General Counsel, Foundry Group

700 Front St., Ste. 104

Louisville, CO 80027

(303) 642-4085
Appointed by CBA
Term Ends 12/31/2022

Tim Macdonald

Arnold & Porter

1144 Fifteenth St., Suite 3100

Denver CO 80202

(303) 863-2334


Appointed by Legal Aid Foundation

Term Ends 12/31/23

Jackie Marro

SCAO Access to Justice Coordinator
1300 Broadway, Suite 1200

Denver, CO 80203
(720) 625-5970

Sarah M. Mercer

Brownstein Hyatt Farber Shreck

401 Seventeenth St.

Denver, CO 80202

(303) 233-1139


Appointed by Colorado House of Reps.

Term Ends 11/17/23

Hon. Kristen Mix

U.S. District Court - District of Colorado

Arraj Courthouse A401

901 19th St. 

Denver, CO 80294


Appointed by Colorado Supreme Court

Term Ends 12/31/22

Diana Poole

Executive Director, Legal Aid Foundation & COLTAF  
1120 Lincoln Street #701

Denver, CO 80203
(303) 863-9544

Kathleen Schoen

Director, Local Bar Relations & Access to Justice

Colorado Bar Association

1290 Broadway, Ste. 1700

Denver, CO 80203


Lauren Schmidt

Executive Director

Outward Bound lauren.schmidt@gmail.com

Appointed by the CBA

Term Ends 12/31/2021

Hon. Timothy Schutz

4th Judicial District

P.O. Box 2980

Colorado Springs, CO 80903

(719) 452-5358


Appointed by Colorado Supreme Court

Term Ends 12/31/2023

David W. Stark

Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath, LLP

1144 15th St. Suite 3400 

Denver, CO 80203



Appointed by Colorado Supreme Court

Term Ends 12/31/2023

Hon. Daniel Taubman

Senior Judge

Colorado Court of Appeals
2 East 14th Avenue
Denver, CO 80203
(303) 837-3788

Samuel D. Walker

Interim Director 

Institute for the Advancement of the American Legal System


Appointed by COLTAF

Term Ends 12/31/2023

Penny Wagner

SCAO Self-Represented Litigant Coordinator

1300 Broadway, Suite 1200

Denver, CO 80203

(720) 625-5612

penny.wagner@judicial.state.co.usAppointed by CBA

Term Ends 12/31/2022

John S. Zakhem

Jackson Kelly, PLLC

1099 18th Street, Ste. 2150

Denver, CO 80202



Executive Director

Elisa_Overall Headshot.jpg

The Colorado Access to Justice Commission is excited to announce that it has named Elisa Marie Overall, esq. as its first Executive Director.

March 24, 2021

Elisa Overall

Access to Justice Commission
1290 Broadway, Ste. 1790
Denver, CO 80203